Fortnite Chapter 2 Season 2 – news and changes

Fortnite has become a fan-favorite among gamers since it was first released. They had over 125 million players after just one year. The game has three modes:

  • Fortnite: Save the World – PvP environment with four-payer teams
  • Fortnite Battle Royale – PvP battle royale for up to 100 players
  • Fortnite Creative – sandbox game mode

We have been waiting for a long time for the second season of Fortnite Chapter 2, and it's finally here. It was released on February 20th, and it presents us with a secret agent themed battle royale game. Let’s take a look at the changes the developers made compared to their last big update.

The first feature we will discuss is the character customization. Season 2 inaugurates two agencies – Ghost and Shadow, and with the help of missions, you can unlock different versions for every character. But you can only get the version from one faction, and you have to choose which one you want because you won't be able to edit your choice later. There is a new character called Maya, and when it comes to appearance customization, you have a lot to choose for this character such as:

  • Hairstyle
  • Clothing
  • Tattoos
  • Face paint

There are over 3,8 million possible customization combinations for Maya, and each week after completing a new challenge, you can unlock a new body part to customize. This feature is a massive change because looking at the previous Fortnite versions, and there were only premade featured character skins.

A way to unlock rewards in Fortnite is through the Battle Pass. Just like last season, the pass costs 950 V-Bucks, and you can get in from the in-game store. This season the pass includes over a hundred cosmetic changes, but none of them affect the gameplay. All you have to do after you buy the Battle Pass is play the game. Everything you do in it will earn you experience points, which will help increase your pass' bonus tier and grant you greater rewards. The Battle Pass also unlocks new challenges each week, which can help you progress faster. Some of the featured Battle Pass skins are:

  • Meowscles
  • Agent Peely
  • Brutus
  • TNTina
  • Skye
  • Maya
  • Midas
  • Deadpool

For the less patient gamers out there, there is also a version of the Battle Pass which unlocks the first twenty-five tiers, but it costs 2,800 V-Bucks. The pass itself unlocks V-Bucks rewards, and you can win up to 1,500 when you complete the entire pass. The Battle Pass will be available only until April 29th.

The map changes this season aren't significant, like at the start of the season back in October, but they are still there. We have five new locations:

  • The Agency
  • The Rig
  • The Shark
  • The Grotto
  • The Yacht

These locations drop a lovely loot. You can get it with Vault Keys, which are dropped by bosses. There are also Supply Caches, but to unlock them, you need an ID scan. Don't try to break the Caches because the loot will disappear.